Jim Bolger

NEWMARKET, UNITED KINGDOM - OCTOBER 20: Trainer Jim Bolger looks on after his horse, New Approach, won The Darley Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket Racecourse on October 20, 2007 in Newmarket, Suffolk, England. (Photo by Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images)
Jim Bolger of Coolcullen Stables has trained some outstanding horses in flat-racing history, including Jet Ski Lady, Eva Luna, Tropical Lady, the famous Alexander Goldrun, Teofilo and Finsceal Beo. He began his career as a trainer in the late 1970s, and went on to capture a string of notable races in the UK and across Europe.

In 1991, Jim Bolger’s Jet Ski Lady – a poor shot at only 50/1 – won the Epsom Oaks by a spectacular 12 lengths, under jockey Christy Roche.

With St Jovite, Bolger broke the track record in the Budweiser Irish Derby at Curragh, winning by a remarkable 12 lengths. Bolger himself rode the winner of the Irish Derby, and four of the horses he trained took other wins on the seven-race day. St Jovite also won the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Diamond Stakes at Ascot.

Bolger won the 1994 Heinz 57 Phoenix Stakes at Leopardstown with Eva Luna, and the same race in 1996 with Mantovani. Priory Belle gave him another Group One victory in the 1995 Moyglare Stud Stakes. Bolger has trained the winner of the Birdcatcher Nursery on six occasions since 1990, and 33/1 shot Margarula gave him a further Classic win by taking the 2002 Darley Irish Oaks.

Alexander Goldrun gave Jim Bolger five Group 1 races, as well as numerous other wins. Included were the 2004 Nassau Stakes, the 2004 Hong Kong Cup at Sha Tin, the 2004 Prix de l’Opera at Longchamp and the Pretty Polly Stakes at Curragh in 2005.

In 2006, Jim Bolger trained both the European Champion Two Year Old Colt – Teofilo – and the then European Champion Two Year Old Filly, Finsceal Beo. Teofilo went on to win at all of his five outings, taking the Group One Laing O’Rourke National Stakes at Curragh and the Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket.

Finsceal Beo, winner of the 1000 Guineas in 2007, also won the Group One Prix Marcel Boussac at Longchamp and the Group Two Rockfel Stakes at Newmarket.